Jonathan Rainous
Jonathan Rainous


Jonathan Rainous is a composer from Cincinnati, OH, USA. Once he began formal musical study he was captivated by a variety of styles, from hip-hop to Thelonius Monk to Lutosławski and many living composers. This potpourri of influences is evident in his stylistically diverse, rhythmically complex, and quirky music. He has studied at Belmont University, Ithaca College, and currently the University at Buffalo. Jonathan is focusing on works for small ensembles of any ability and large ensembles of young performers. Recent works include a trumpet sonata, Elegy No. 3 (for Ray Miller) for piano quartet (premiere at June in Buffalo, 2022), and a trio for three trombones (amateur performers). Currently on his desk is a 24-hour work for open instrumentation, utilizing text, graphical notation, and traditional notation; a work for string quintet (string quartet + cello); and a gift for a friend (alto sax, violin, acoustic guitar, double bass).



Composer name

Jonathan Rainous

for two flutes

Aanmelden nieuwsbrief